Double Z Fold Christmas

Welcome back my dear stampers! Today I have a Double Z Fold Christmas card. I’m sure you have seen this all over Pinterest and everywhere else because it is absolutely beautiful. I actually have two versions to share with you today. Let’s first take a look at the Star of Light version.

double-z-fold-christmas-2

The original card I saw had two or three layers of cardstock and DSP which made the card very heavy. If I’m going to use these for Christmas cards I don’t want to also pay double postage! I simplified and used Vellum on the thin strip which reduced the weight quite a bit.

double-z-fold-christmas-1

This photo shows off the embossed lettering in the sentiment…very cool.

double-z-fold-christmas-3

When opened all the way this is just stunning. You may notice that I brought the thin band down to the bottom of the card unlike most on Pinterest. I just changed it up.

Here’s another version of this fold – did this in my stamp class.

double-z-fold-gingerbread-man-1

I love this one. I cut the darling little gingerbread house out of our Candy Cane Lane DSP in the Holiday Catalog.

double-z-fold-gingerbread-man-2

Look whose peeking out behind the house. 🙂

couble-z-fold-gingerbread-man-3

Open all the way. Do you notice that I brought the band up higher on this card. I like the way the front sentiment circle overlaps the band. I really like this style fold for display purposes. Many people like to display their cards (like me) and this is so cute opened up.

 

Products Used (Green for the Star of Light card and Red for the Gingerbread card):

Stamp Sets – Star of Light, Cookie Cutter Christmas, Tin of Tags

Ink – Versa Mark, Chocolate Chip

PaperNight of Navy, Silver Glimmer Paper, Whisper White, Winter Wonderland Vellum (R), Real Red, Whisper White, Candy Cane Lane DSP

AccessoriesSilver Embossing Powder, Embossing Buddy, Heat Tool, Rhinestones, Real Red Woven Satin Ribbon

 

Directions for the Double Z Fold

Use an 8 1/2″ x 11″ piece of cardstock, cut into pieces 4 1/4″ x 11″, 1 1/4″ x 11″ – you will have a piece of 3″ x 11″ left over to use for your star or circle.

On both red pieces score at 2 3/4″ and 5 1/2″

From Whisper White cardstock cut:  (2) 2 1/2″ x 4″, (1) 4″ x 5 1/4″, (2) 1″ x 2 1/2″, (1) 1″ x 5 1/4″

From DSP cut:  (2) 7/8″ x 2 3/8″, (1) 7/8″ x 5 1/8″

 

I hope you will try this fold because I think you will get “hooked” and find yourself using it often.

Hope you enjoyed this post and I’d love to hear from you and your comments.

Until Friday…Happy Stamping!

One thought on “Double Z Fold Christmas

Leave a Reply

