Watercolor Technique – Stamp Wash

Here’s #2 of the cards and techniques I did in my Watercolor Techniques Class. I got this idea from a fellow Stampin’ Up! Demonstrator, Patty Bennett.

Stamp Wash 1

You use watercolor paper, spritz it with the Stampin’ Spritzer (both sides if you don’t want it to curl). Ink the Watercolor Wash Stamp Set. First stamp with the lighter color (in this case Daffodil Delight) then use your second color in two or three areas (Watermelon Wonder). Spritz the inked stamp and then stamp onto the watercolor paper. If it’s runny, that’s OK, just let it drip because when it dries it blends itself.

Stamp Wash 2

With an envelope liner the set is complete. I’m using my retired DSP for liners…good way to use them up.

Now check out the centers of the flowers…I used dots of Dazzling Details.

Stamp Wash 3

To color the flowers and leaves I used the Stampin’ Write Markers and Aqua Painter.

This card was so much fun to make. I know I’ll use this technique many times. I’ve always loved to watercolor and got away from it for a time…now I’m back to it and loving it! Try this technique on your own and let me know how you like it.

Happy Stamping!

 

2 thoughts on “Watercolor Technique – Stamp Wash

  1. Thanks for the lovely compliment, Bobbi. Yes, the second color goes right over the first. I didn’t see any problem with the Watermelon Wonder ink pad after tapping over the Daffodil Delight. Try this technique and let me know how it goes. I’m hoping to try some other colors too.

  2. WOW! What a beautiful effect Donna! I love this! Thanks for sharing. One question though. So you ink the stamp first with Daffodil Delight, then ink the same stamp again with Watermelon Wonder, but just in different areas of the stamp? Doesn’t the ink bleed on your ink pad then?

Leave a Reply

