Birthday Slide Pocket Card

My mother in law is celebrating her 95th birthday on Sunday so I wanted to make her an extra special card.

Birthday Slide Out 2

From the first view all you see is the flower…then pull the pockets apart and…

Birthday Slide Out 3

This is so cute!  She will love it!

To make this card you need:

2 pieces of cardstock 5 1/2″ x 4 1/4″ then fold each in half.  These become the two side pockets.  Use Sticky Strip on the two edges next to the folded side.  You can see that I also do a half circle punch for ease in taking in and out.

1 piece of cardstock 3 1/4″ x 4 1/2″  This becomes the insert.

Decorate as you like.  My flower is made from three Blossom Punch flowers that I worked with the bone folder to split each into two pieces to make a suede like texture.  They flatten for mailing and can easily be poofed up.

If you have any questions just leave a comment and I’ll get back to you.

3 thoughts on “Birthday Slide Pocket Card

  1. Donna, Thanks for responding so quickly. I think I could have figured it out if I had been at my craft table, but life has taken over for the last couple of days. I’ll get back in the grove tomorrow. Thanks again.

  2. Hi Sue, After folding the 5 1/2 x 4 1/4 piece you will have 2 3/4 x 4 1/4. It’s not difficult and I think you can come up with many ways to decorate and embellish. Have fun & send me a photo of what you come up with.

  3. Donna, When you say fold the two pieces of 5-1/2″ x 4-1/4″ cardstock in half, do you end up with two pieces 2-3/4″ x 4-1/4″ or 5-1/2″ x 2-1/8″? Usually I can tell by looking at the card, but I can’t on this one because the 3-1/4″ x 4-1/2″ insert doesn’t match up.
    Maybe I’m still tired from my busy week and my mind isn’t clicking.

Leave a Reply

